Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Members logon to access full website features

UK Based Foot & Ankle Fellowships

Hospitals in the UK host some of the best Foot & Ankle Fellowships in the world.  BOFAS aims to continually improve the quality of Foot & Ankle Surgical training for senior trainees after the completion of their specialist training, by  providing co-ordination and support.

BOFAS established the Advanced Foot & Ankle Fellows Forum in 2016. This an invitational three day course, which delivers an update on the current literature, sessions on the skills to be a new Consultant and a surgical “tips and tricks” day in a cadaver laboratory.

A good quality F&A Fellowship should provide a balance between surgical practice in theatre and of decision making in outpatients, with at least two clinics and at least three theatre sessions per week. There should be a regular multi-disciplinary team meeting, study leave with both protected time and a budget, a paid session for research or audit and a clear mechanism for feedback (Brown R et al. The Current Standards of Foot& Ankle Fellowships in the UK. doi.org/10.1016/j.fas.2017.06.001)

This website provides contact details of UK Fellowships which provide training above and beyond these minimum criteria.

When considering a specific Fellowship, the prospective Fellow is advised to review the experience of the previous Fellows, looking at  their logbook summary and publication record. We highly recommend a direct conversation with the incumbent Fellow to determine if the Fellowship will fulfil their learning goals.


Fellowship Name Lead Consultant  Duration Salaried   Trainer details  Fellow feedback Contact
Aintree University Hospital, Liverpool
Mr Andy Molloy
12 months
Yes pdf  pdf  andymolloy3@gmail.com
Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham H Prem, KP Meda, 
J McKenzie 
6-12 months  Yes      Hariprem1@hotmail.com
Royal Bournemouth Mr Heath Taylor 12 months  Yes      heathtaylor@me.com
Avon Orthopaedic Centre, Bristol Mr I Winson, Mr B Harries & Mr S Hepple  6-12 months  Yes pdf    ian.winson@nbt.nhs.uk
Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust Mr Andrew "Fred" Robinson 12 months  Yes pdf    fredthefoot@virginmedia.com
Cardiff & Vale Orthopaedic Centre Mr Rhys Thomas 6-12 months  Yes      Rhyshthomas@mac.com
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire Mr S Clint
12 months  Yes     Available from 2020
 simon.clint@nhs.net
Crewe, Mid Cheshire Mr D Machin 12 months  Yes    pdf  david.machin@mcht.nhs.uk
Epsom and St Helier Miss A Sott
Mr P Hamilton
12 months  Yes pdf
pdf
   

Andrea.sott@nhs.net

Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Trust
Mr Ian Sharpe
6-12 months
 Yes pdf  pdf
 pdf

 iansharpe@nhs.net
 adrianhughes@nhs.net

Glasgow Mr C Senthil Kumar 6-12 months  Yes pdf    senthil.kumar@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
 jane.madeley@nhs.net
Leicester Foot & Ankle Unit Miss P Allen, Mr A Best, Mr M Bhatia, Mr J Mangwani  6-12 months  Yes    pdf  

 peallen@doctors.org.uk jmangwani@hotmail.com 

Royal Liverpool Mr Chris Walker 6 months  Yes      c.r.walker@me.com
Fortius Clinic Sports F & A Fellowship, London (Chelsea & Westminster) Mr James Calder 6-12 months  Yes pdf  pdf  ingrid.sutton@fortiusclinic.com
Fortius Clinic & Imperial Hospital, London
Mr P Rosenfeld, Mr Tudur-Jones, Mr Mushtaq
6-12 months
 No
   Footandankle@fortiusclinic.com
Guys and St Thomas's Hospital, London Mr S Singh, Mr A Abbasian, Mr  R Walker, Mr A Latif
12 months  Yes       samrendu@yahoo.co.uk
Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore, London  Mr Dishan Singh 6 months   Yes      dishan.singh@rnoh.nhs.uk
St Bartholomew's, Royal London and Newham,  London  Mr L Parker, Mr F Malagelada, Mr N Heidari, Mr A Vris 6-12 months  Yes pdf
pdf
   lee.parker1@nhs.net
South Manchester  Mr N Kurdy, Mr A Pillai, Ms A Fox 6-12 months  Yes  pdf    anandpillai@UHSM.nhs.uk
Freeman Hospital, Newcastle-upon-Tyne Mr M Siddique, Mr P Torres, Mr S Chambers, Mr S Qasim 12 months  Yes  pdf  pdf  paulo.torres@nuth.nhs.uk
Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford Mr Rogers, Sharp, Brown
6-12 months
 Yes pdf  

 rick.brown@ouh.nhs.uk

Oswestry S Hill, N Makwana, A Bing, C Marquis 12 months  Yes  pdf  pdf  Simon.Hill@rjah.nhs.uk

Portsmouth

Mr Billy Jowett 12 months  Yes    

 billyjowett@gmail.com

Sheffield Mr Mark Davies & Mr Chris Blundell

12 months

 Yes

pdf

 pdf 

 mark.davies@sth.nhs.ukchrisblundell.cb@gmail.com

Surrey Mr Anthony Sakellariou (Frimley), Mr Matt Solan, Mr Paul Halliwell (Guildford) 12 months  Yes pdf

   office@footandankleclinic.co.uk
(formal applications via BMJ/NHS Jobs advertisement)

North Tyneside, Northumbria Mr R Kakwani, Mr D Townshend, Mr A Murty 12 months  Yes      rajesh.kakwani@nhct.nhs.uk
Windsor Mr Raman Dega, Mr Callum Clark 6 months   Yes  pdf    Raman.Dega@hwph-tr.nhs.uk
 Callum.clark@fhft.nhs.uk
Wirral University Teaching Hospital Mr Mike Hennessy & Miss G Jackson 12 months Yes
 pdf  mhennessy@nhs.net
Wrightington Hospital
Mr Robert Smith 6-12 months Yes
   robert.smith2@wwl.nhs.uk
       
   
 "Last Minute" Fellowships:
           
We understand that the employment plans of senior trainees can change at short notice depending on examinations and appointment committees. Thereby a vacancy in a Fellowship Post can become available at short notice.  Watch this space for any opportunity in the next few months.  
 A six month fellowship is available in Bristol from April - September 2019. For details contact Mr Steve Hepple      steve.hepple@nbt.nhs.uk





 


Contact Us

You can contact BOFAS online

 by telephone on 07847 281130

 or at the following postal address:

BOFAS PO Box 209 Bristol BS20 1DL

Donate to BOFAS

Find out how to donate to BOFAS.

Useful Links

Find BOFAS on Twitter

BOFAS Facebook page

You can see the BOFAS GDPR Privacy Statement here

This site uses cookies to help deliver an engaging user experience.
To learn more about what cookies are and how to manage them visit AboutCookies.org