Outcomes Committee

The role of the BOFAS outcomes committee (OutComm) is to support the Society and Council in developing suitable processes to collect patient outcome measures.

Responsibilities of the committee, more information on setting up outcomes, and participating in the BOFAS registry pilot can be found on the Outcomes pages:

  • Collection of data at local level
  • Patient consent
  • Collection of information into central BOFAS registry
  • Information governance
  • Publication of data
  • Registry funding
  • Liaison with other stakeholders including NJR
  • Be responsible for the long term strategy


Membership of OutComm:

  • Chair:  Lyndon Mason
  • Secretary: Edward Wood
  • Caldicott Guardian: Mark Davies
  • Member: Tim Clough
  • Member: Nick Harris
  • Member: Nilesh Makwana
  • Member: Jamie McKenzie
  • Member: Robbie Ray
  • Co-opted: Andy Goldberg
  • Co-opted: Karan Malhotra
Lyndon Mason - Chair Outcomes Committee

Lyndon Mason - is a Consultant Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle surgeon at Aintree University Hospital. He graduated from the University of Wales in 2003 and completed his higher surgical training in the Wales deanery, before moving to Liverpool. He completed travelling fellowships in Utah and Dresden and a post CCT fellowship in Liverpool. Lyndon Mason is an Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer at the University of Liverpool, where he is the musculoskeletal undergraduate lead for the school of medicine. He has a keen research interest, which has received recognition with multiple national awards. He has nationally recognised teaching contributions with invited lectures at the British Orthopaedic Training Association and with his role as the multimedia lead for the British Orthopaedic Association education platform Wikipaedics. 

Elected: November 2017 | Elected as Chair March 2021

Edward Wood - Secretary

Mr Edward V Wood is a Consultant Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Surgeon working in Chester and was appointed in 2009.  He trained in Mersey Region and has undertaken a Specialist Foot & Ankle Fellowship.  He is involved in SpR training and has an interest in Postgraduate Medical Education.  He was on the IT Committee for two terms and now sits on the Outcomes Committee.

Elected: November 2017 | Re-elected March 2021

Mark Davies - Caldicott Guardian

Mark B Davies is a graduate of Southampton University from 1993 who subsequently underwent specialist training in Sheffield.  He undertook two Fellowships, one in trauma and limb reconstruction in Sheffield and the other in adult foot and ankle surgery in Brisbane in 2005.  He is a consultant and honorary clinical lecturer in the Sheffield Foot and Ankle Unit, the lead for undergraduate education in orthopaedic surgery and the SFAU lead for research and audit. 

Tim Clough

Tim Clough graduated from St Andrews, Scotland and Manchester in 1992, gained specialist training in Manchester before completing his Fellowship training in Canada.  He was appointed Consultant F+A surgeon at Wrightington Hospital in 2003.   He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University of Salford and is committed to both research and medical education, sitting on the R+D Committee of his NHS Trust, is regular Faculty member to Courses and Conferences, runs a F+A Cadaver workshop, lectures on the Biomechanics programme at the University of Dundee, is a member of the International Advisory Board for ‘The Foot’ and is a reviewer for the journal.   

Elected March 2021

Nick Harris

Nick Harris graduated from Aberdeen Medical School in 1989. He completed his orthopaedic training in Sheffield. Nick undertook a Foot & Ankle Fellowship with Professor Mike Stephens in Dublin in 2000. He was appointed Consultant Orthopaedic & Trauma Surgeon at Leeds Teaching Hospitals in 2001. In 2017 Nick was appointed Visiting Professor at Leeds Beckett University. Nick undertakes all aspects of Foot & Ankle Surgery but has particular interests in Ankle Replacement and Sports Injuries. He has produced over 100 original papers and presentations and is the author of a textbook on Clinical Examination. Nick is part of the Zimmer-Biomet Ankle Replacement Faculty & Design Team and is looking forward to contributing to Outcomm.

Elected: November 2018

Nilesh Makwana

Nilesh Makwana is from Birmingham and qualified from St George's Hospital Medical School, University of London in 1989. He completed his specialist registrar training in the Trent region and was appointed Consultant Trauma & Orthopaedic surgeon at the Robert Jones & Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital, Shropshire and the Betsi Cadwaldr University Health Board in 2001. He is a Specialist Foot and Ankle Surgeon treating all conditions of the adult foot and ankle. His area of expertise include forefoot surgery, mid and hindfoot reconstruction and arthroscopy. He has developed a specialist interest in Autologous Chondrocyte transplantation in the ankle. 

Elected: November 2018

James McKenzie

Jamie McKenzie qualified from Oxford University Medical School in 1997. During his early medical career he gained a broad experience, doing basic surgical training in London, a diploma in tropical medicine in Liverpool and a year providing emergency surgical care in Kenya before completing higher Orthopaedic training in and around Bath. He has undertaken advanced fellowship training in New Zealand and in Bristol studying both children’s and adult’s complex foot and ankle surgery. He is currently at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital in Birmingham.

Elected: November 2017 | Re-elected March 2021

Robbie Ray

Robbie Ray graduated from Glasgow University School of Medicine. His orthopaedic training was on the prestigious Edinburgh rotation, then Fellowship training in Sydney, Australia and in Toronto, Canada. He is a consultant orthopaedic surgeon at the PRUH, Farnborough, part of King’s College Hospital London NHS foundation trust. He specialises in conditions and trauma of the foot and ankle, with a special interest in minimally invasive and keyhole techniques. He teaches at all grades from medical students to fellow consultants. He has given multiple national and international presentations including teaching for the European Foot and Ankle Society (EFAS) and the Minimally Invasive Foot and Ankle Society (MIFAS). He is very interested in patient outcomes following surgery and research and has won multiple BOFAS outcomes awards and is highly published in the area of minimally invasive foot surgery.

Elected: March 2021

Andy Goldberg - Co-opted member

Andy Goldberg graduated from St Mary’s Hospital Medical School (Imperial College) in 1994 before completing his specialist training in trauma and orthopaedics in London with a specialist fellowship in complex foot and ankle disorders in Oxford, as well as overseas in centres of excellence across the USA and Europe. He is a Clinical Senior Lecturer at UCL where he runs several Master’s courses. He runs a pioneering research program exploring regenerative treatments including cartilage repair, stem cells in achilles tendinopathy and a national trial comparing ankle replacements against ankle fusion. 

Co-opted November 2014

Karan Malhotra - Co-opted Member

Karan Malhotra  is a Consultant Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Surgeon working at the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore, UK. He graduated from Manchester with honours before beginning his core surgical and early registrar training in Yorkshire. He completed his registrar training on the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital Training Rotation, London. He undertook Foot & Ankle Fellowships in Singapore, Melbourne and Stanmore. He is actively involved with research, medical education and quality improvement. He has extensive experience with IT and databases and was co-opted to the BOFAS Outcomes Committee in October 2017 and the IT Committee in November 2019.

Co-opted October 2017