Scientific Committee

The aim of the Scientific Committee is to advance study & research in Foot & Ankle surgery.


Key activities of this committee include:

  • Supporting research through the awarding of grants.
  • Facilitating surveys of the BOFAS membership.
  • Abstract reviews for both the British Orthopaedic Association (BOA) and BOFAS annual scientific meetings.
  • Award of prizes for the best podium and poster presentations at the annual scientific meeting.
  • Support in finishing scientific papers for publication.
  • Development of national practice guidelines.
  • Development of commissioning pathways.
  • Guidance in HRG coding.

Membership of SciComm:

  • Chair:  Jitendra Mangwani
  • Member: Sarah Johnson-Lynn
  • Member: Rajesh Kakwani
  • Member: David Loveday
  • Member: Dev Mahadevan
  • Secretary: Dave Townshend
  • Co-opted: James Ritchie
Jit Mangwani - Chair Scientific Committee

Jit Mangwani is a Consultant Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Surgeon at University Hospitals of Leicester. He undertook higher specialist training in orthopaedics on the Royal London Hospital rotation. He has a keen interest in medical research and education. He is chief investigator for several outcome studies on ankle fractures, Achilles tendon rupture and other foot and ankle conditions. He is principal investigator for a number of multi-centre national studies. He is currently leading BOFAS James Lind Alliance Priority Setting Partnership project. He has been conferred the title of ‘academic champion and honorary fellow’ by University of Leicester. He serves on the editorial board of several reputable orthopaedic journals. His contribution towards research in foot and ankle conditions has been recognised with several national and international prizes. He has published numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals and authored several chapters in books including AO manual of fracture management on Foot and Ankle Trauma. He is passionate about medical education and is involved in both undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and training. He is regularly invited as a faculty to national and international courses and conferences. He is actively involved in the training and teaching of General Practitioners and Allied Health Professionals.

Elected November 2017 | Elected as Chair 2021

Sarah Johnson-Lynn

Sarah Johnson-Lynn is a Consultant Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Surgeon at North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Trust, with interests in diabetic foot surgery and foot and ankle trauma. She graduated from Newcastle University and completed specialty orthopaedic training in the North East. Fellowships in foot and ankle surgery at Addenbrookes Hospital and in trauma and limb reconstruction at Leeds General Infirmary followed, as well as a British Orthopaedic Research Society travelling fellowship in Asia and Australia. She completed a PhD at Newcastle University, continues to lead clinical and qualitative research projects and teaches on the faculty of several national courses.

Elected March 2021

Rajesh Kakwani

Rajesh Kakwani is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon at Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust where he leads the Foot and Ankle unit. He completed his Higher Surgical Training at the Northern Deanery, gaining the FRCS (Orth) accreditation in 2012. He undertook fellowship training in foot and ankle surgery at Bristol and Sheffield. Mr Kakwani completed the AO Trauma Fellowship in Hannover, Germany & was awarded BOFAS Travelling fellowship to the Sigvard Hansen Foot and Ankle Unit, Seattle. He is and has been a Clinical and Educational Supervisor for the Orthopaedic Specialty Trainees and teaches in a variety of regional and national courses including the BOFAS Principles Course.

Elected November 2019

David Loveday

David Loveday is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Trust. He was appointed in 2012 after higher surgical training in East Anglia with a specialist foot and ankle fellowship in Liverpool. Following his interest in research he has been an NIHR Investigator for several studies, recruiting Norfolk patients with various foot and ankle problems including arthritis, trauma, tendinopathies and diabetic ulceration. He is also a regular reviewer for the “Foot and Ankle Surgery” journal.

Elected March 2021

Dev Mahadevan

Dev Mahadevan is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon at Royal Berkshire Hospital NHS Trust. He graduated from the University of Nottingham and completed his specialist orthopaedic training in the East Midlands Deanery. His fellowship training was at the Avon Orthopaedic Centre in Bristol. Dev is actively involved in research and has a strong research portfolio. He is committed to medical education and is a faculty member of several national courses.

Elected March 2021

Dave Townshend - Secretary Scientific Committee

David Townshend graduated from Newcastle University and completed his surgical training in the Northern Region. He undertook a research fellowship in New Zealand and Foot and Ankle fellowship in Vancouver, Canada before taking a consultant post with the Northumbria NHS Healthcare Trust in 2010. Dave leads an active foot and ankle research team in Northumbria and is an MSc Supervisor for Bath and Dundee Universities.

Elected November 2016. Re-elected November 2019

Mr James Ritchie - Co-opted Scientific Committee

James Ritchie is a Consultant Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Surgeon based in Tunbridge Wells and was appointed in 2005.  He trained in the SE Thames Region and has undertaken a Specialist Foot & Ankle Fellowship at the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital at Stanmore.  He is committed to medical education and runs the South East Thames Foot and Ankle training programme and the Guy's Hospital Foot and Ankle Course .